Southern women novelists and the Civil War : trauma and collective memory in the American literary tradition since 1861 /

Main Author: Talley, Sharon, 1952-
Format: Book
Language: English
Published: Knoxville : The University of Tennessee Press, [2014]
Edition: First edition.
Table of Contents:
  • Augusta Jane Evans's Macaria; or, altars of sacrifice
  • Sallie Rochester Ford's Raids and romance of Morgan and his men
  • Marion Harland's Sunnybank
  • Mary Ann Cruse's Cameron Hall: a story of the Civil War
  • Rebecca Harding Davis's Waiting for the verdict
  • Mary Noailles Murfree's Where the battle was fought and The storm centre
  • Ellen Glasgow's The battle-ground
  • Mary Johnston's The long roll and Cease firing
  • Evelyn Scott's The wave
  • Margaret Mitchell's Gone with the wind
  • Caroline Gordon's None shall look back
  • Margaret Walker's Jubilee
  • Kaye Gibbons' On the occasion of my last afternoon
  • Josephine Humphreys's Nowhere else on Earth
  • Alice Randall's The wind done gone.